UN: Russia denied re-election to UN Human Rights Council

Russia was not re-elected as one of the 14 members of the UN Human Rights Council, as the UN General Assembly voted on the new members at their headquarters in New York, Friday.
President of the UN General Assembly Peter Thomson announced, "The following 14 states have thus been elected members of the Human Rights Council for a three year term of office beginning the 1st January 2017; Brazil, China, Croatia, Cuba, Egypt, Hungary, Iraq, Japan, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Tunisia, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America."
This is the first time in history that one of the 5 permanent members of the council has lost their bid. This comes allegedly due to Russia's policy in Syria.
Saudi Arabia was voted in as one of the 14 members, despite great opposition from human rights groups due to civilian attacks in Yemen.