Islamic State Mints Its Own 'Islamic Dinar' Coins

The currency, based on the original dinar coins used during the Caliphate of Uthman in 634 CE, was set to include seven minted coins: two gold, three silver and two copper. Designs due to be embossed on the gold coins included a symbol of seven wheat stalks - a Quranic reference - and a world map. The prototype design had also shown that the coins would carry an Arabic message on the lines of “The Islamic State - A caliphate based on the doctrine of the Prophet”.